Arrivals. Keflavik/Reykjavik.

I finally was able to get a couple hours of sleep after testing all of the possible positions I could manage in my seat. So as I lifted my head from the tray table in front of me, I noticed first that my arms were numb from supporting my head, and then realized that our flight was 9 minutes from landing. Just minutes left of the 7 hour trip. So I tidied up and waited. Just another landing, “it’ll be fine” I thought. But when i saw all of the beautiful lights waiting I felt out of place… these certainly aren’t Medford or Spokane lights, and they aren’t even Seattle or Portland sights… this is Reykjavik guys! So it finally clicked and I’ve accepted my situation. ; )

It’s 6:30am in Iceland (8 hour difference) and here I am! It’s still very dark during the majority of the day this far North but I see the snow falling and the lights and I can’t wait to explore this place in the spring.

Oh and by the way… their retail shop here is the most beautiful thing I’ve seen. Photos, pottery, sweets, spirits, and a whole stunning display of Icelandic wool (both yarn and knit items) at its entrance. Absolutely gorgeous. Small but impressive seems to be the theme of the services in Iceland. The flight was comfortable even for economy seating, the crew was lovely and this airport is super (…duper…) sweet.

LONDON up next…

Leave a Reply

